Chalkboard Paint Frenzy

16 Jan

So now that the majority of my Christmas junk is back in the attic, I’m faced with a painting project of massive proportion.  I’ve pretty much been putting it off since we bought the house.  Because I’m not talking “normal” paint job here.  I’m talking chalkboard paint, dry-erase marker paint, magnetic paint, regular paint, finger paint.  I want to feel like I’m sitting inside the bowels of Crayola.

First project….the den.   One wall will be done with chalkboard paint because I’m sick of my kid writing all over my walls.

paint color collage

It’s the chalkboard paint that I’m ’bout to get crazy with though.  I mean, c’mon.  Who doesn’t like to write on walls?!  I figure people who don’t like writing on walls probably believe that Emily Post was the true author of the Bible.  I imagine that they also wear girdles.

So feast your eyes upon chalkboard inspirational eye candy and ask yourself, “Do I have the guts?”

photo(83) photo(84) photo(85) photo(86) photo(87) photo(88) photo(89) photo(90) photo(91) photo(92) photo(93) photo

 

 

6 Responses to “Chalkboard Paint Frenzy”

  1. Michael Cargill January 16, 2013 at 9:32 am #

    Paint everything the same colour. Saves time and you might get a bulk discount on it.

    Like

  2. therealgirlfriday January 16, 2013 at 10:57 am #

    Honestly, since I’m a childless person – the idea of chalkboard walls in my own house makes my forehead wrinkle. But hey – the photos are cute and I’m sure you will do something creative with it. I’m wondering how easy/difficult it is to paint over the chalkboard paint. For like the day when you realize Cali is a teenager and she and her friends are only writing rude things to drive you mad.

    Like

    • April Trice January 16, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

      It’s actually very easy to cover the chalkboard paint if you use Kilz paint. And I have a feeling I’ll still be rocking the chalkboard paint long after Cali is gone. 🙂

      Like

  3. Another 12 Novels in 12 Months January 16, 2013 at 11:51 am #

    I’m struggling with the same dilemma. I want to paint the biggest wall in my apartment with chalkboard paint and it should super easy- no door frames or windows to contend with… except I’ve never painted! I’m a princess when it comes to doing handy work like this but no more!

    Good luck with your projects, it sounds like once everything is finished it’ll be a visual feast in technicolour. I love it! Are you sticking with the original black paint or are you going to get a little crazy and try something else? I’m going to go with a warm dark-chocolate brown and treat it like an accent wall with benefits.

    Be sure to post before and after pictures!

    Like

    • April Trice January 16, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

      Girl, you know I’m gonna get crazy and use every color of chalkboard paint on the market!! The best painting tip I’ve ever been given: Always use that blue painter’s tape. And get a decent edging brush. Yeah, that’s about all I got in home-improvement tips.

      Like

What say thee?

