Disturbing Retro and Vintage Ads

8 Feb

There’s some pretty creepy advertising out there, peeps.  Some of them are selling stuff.  Some are Public Service Announcements.  This particular billboard is a few streets away from where I live:

But hey!  There was some seriously jacked up ads from way back when.  Truly.  If you rolled out this stuff today, someone would get sued, divorced, forced into bankruptcy and wind up on “Oprah” having their clock cleaned.  There’s no excuse or explanation for this mess!

YOU be the judge:

8 Responses to “Disturbing Retro and Vintage Ads”

  1. Sparky February 8, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    Wow. Just wow.

    Like

  2. theuglymoose February 8, 2012 at 9:36 am #

    Free for chubbies. That’s thoughtful.

    Like

    • April Trice February 8, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

      I bought a vintage sewing pattern a few years ago that had this notice on the front: NOT SUITABLE FOR CHUBBY GIRLS! I was mortified!!

      Like

  3. mattragland February 8, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    “Innocence is sexier than you think”

    This is the worst one. Wow. The male/female dynamic ones are kind of funny, I can’t wrap my mind around that’s how it used to be, my wife wouldn’t stand for it, haha.

    Thanks for sharing

    Like

  4. Darlene Steelman February 8, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    i think the meth one is great. I may have though twice about getting high when I was a teenager had I seen an ad like that.

    The sexism in a lot of the other ones is mind blowing.. but that’s how it was back then. They still use sexism (whoever they are). it’s just in a different fashion.

    Great post.

    Like

  5. Michael Cargill February 8, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

    Some of those are great.

    The Tipalet one is bizarre but the woman is outrageously attractive. I really like those hard-hitting anti-drugs/booze ones though as they are usually funny in a way that they aren’t supposed to be.

    How is life in Georgia? Not seen you much lately.

    Like

    • April Trice February 8, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

      Georgia is racked with bizarro weather and the 3 feet of yellow pollen all over the ground is killing my allergies. That and I’ve been moody lately.

      Like

  6. Sheena February 8, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

    The ad (I think Skin so Soft?) is down right pedophilia! Oh my! ha ha ha! I lOVED these!

    Like

What say thee?

