9/11: Ten Years Later

11 Sep

I remember….

*  Ten years ago I lived in Dubuqe, Iowa and worked at the courthouse.

*  I commented to a friend that I’d never seen the sky that shade of blue before.

*  I received a phone call telling me to go home and turn on my TV.

*  Five minutes after turning on my television, I saw that 2nd plane appear on the right side of the screen.  I somehow knew that the world we lived in would never be the same.

*  I sat on the arm of my sofa with my hand over my mouth, shaking my head in disbelief as I watched both towers collapse to the ground.  It didn’t seem real.  It looked like a scene out of hollywood.

*  I received a frantic call from a friend whose daughter lived three blocks from the towers and she was unable to reach her by phone.  To this day, I’ve never personally heard that type of fear of helplessness in another human being’s voice.

*  After the news of the Pennsylvania and Pentagon crashes, I felt a deep-rooted anger building within me.  Sadly, I still feel anxious when seeing someone of middle eastern descent on the same plane as me.

*  I received a call from my home office telling me not to go near the courthouse…that all federal buildings were being evacuated.

*  I was shocked to later hear that one of the terrorist had completed his flight training right there in Dubuque, Iowa.

*  I was sickened to find out that the ear-piercing  beeping sounds coming from the rubble of the collapsed towers were first responders that had been crushed and buried.

*  I was overcome with an aching sadness when I watched desperate people jumping from the top of the towers.

*  I didn’t sleep that night.  Nor did I eat anything the rest of the day.

*  I was proud as I felt our entire country put political differences aside and join together to fight back against those who attacked us.

Today, September 11, 2011….here in Albany, Georgia….there’s an unseasonably cool nip in the air…and the sky is the exact same shade of blue as it was ten years ago.  My heart sends love to all of those personally affected by this tragedy and I marvel at your strength over the years.

God bless the U.S.A.

What say thee?

